What we collect!
Stamporama Anniversary
The Stamp Club for People Who Love Stamps

Main Menu
Dot Home
Dot Bylaws
Dot The Rambler
Dot Stamporama Gazette
Dot Articles
Dot Historic Articles
Dot Advert/Business Cards
Dot Exhibits
Dot FAQs 
Dot Join
Dot Code of Conduct
Dot User Agreement
Dot Management Team 
Dot Contact Webmaster
Dot Member Messages
      -- View Messages
      -- Sent Messages
      -- Send a Message
Dot Auction
      -- Introduction
      -- Closing in 24 Hrs
      -- All New Items
      -- Rules
      -- Tutorial
      -- Auction FAQ
      -- Descriptive Terms
Dot Approvals
      -- User Guide
      -- Rules
      -- Categories
      -- All Books
      -- New Books
      -- Templates
Dot Invoicing
      -- To Buyers
      -- From Sellers
Dot Discussion Board
      -- New User Inf.
      -- Posted in Last Day
      -- Posted in Last Week
      -- Last 30 Postings
      -- Show Topics
      -- Search
      -- Upload an Image
      -- Format a Message
      -- Emoticons
      -- DB Email Maint.
Dot The Penny Page
Dot Links
DotSet Screen Width
     -- Narrow
     -- Wide
     -- Wider
Visitors Online

Members Only
Dot Enter

Admin. Only
Dot Enter

The Danish Literary Expedition to Greenland 1902-1904

Exploring Greenland and the Danish Polar Areas

by Ann Mette Heindorff
26th of July 2009

On 12th March 2003 Post Greenland issued the first stamps in a new series about the big Danish expeditions to Greenland in the beginning of the 20th century.

Greenland 2003. Souvenir sheet commemorating The Danish Literary Expedition to Greenland 1902-1904
The stamp to the right shows the famous author and Greenland-explorer Knud Rasmussen, who participated in the expedition as translator and sled driver. The big stamp in the middle shows a panoramic view of the settlement on the island Agpat (Saunders Island).
The label to the left shows all participants in the expedition: the leader Ludvig Mylius Erichsen (author and journalist), Jorgen Bronlund (translator and sled driver), Count Harald Moltke (maritime painter), and Gabriel Olesen aka Gaba (hunter).
Both stamps are available as single stamps. The panoramic stamp also in sheets of 30, and the small stamp in sheets of 50. Further the stamps are available in the souvenir sheet as shown here.
Please note that both Knud Rasmussen and Jorgen Bronlund have been honoured on Greenland stamps: Knud Rasmussen in 1960, Scott # 47, and Jorgen Bronlund in 1977, Scott # 106.
Print: Steel engraving.
Paper: HS5, yellow fluorescent.
Artist: Martin Morck.
Engraver: Martin Morck.
Source: Greenland Collector 1/2003.

Return to list of Articles

Contact Webmaster | Visitors Online | Unsubscribe Emails

User Agreement

Copyright © 2021 Stamporama.com